Fire Prevention Week 2015

In honor of National Fire Prevention Week, Bowman Library is having a week of storytimes all about Firefighters and Fire Safety!

Browse our Fire and Firefighters booklist for a collection of children’s picture books all about fire fighters, fire prevention, and everyone’s favorite: fire engines!  More booklists are available on our booklists page.

Some of the favorites we shared this week include:

Book Jacket for: Firefighter Ted

Fireman Ted by Andrea Beatty – JE Beatty “When Ted awakens to the smell of smoke and cannot find a firefighter, he decides to become one for the day, much to the dismay of his mother, neighbors, principal, and classmates.”

 

Book Jacket for: Firefighters A to Z

Firefighters A to Z by Chris Demarest – JE Demarest “From A to Z, volunteer firefighter and fine artist Chris Demarest presents a day-in-the-life of firefighters whose job it is to answer the call to put out fires and save property and lives.”

 

Book Jacket for: This is the firefighter

This is the Firefighter by Laura Godwin – JE Godwin “In short, rhyming sentences tells the story of firefighters responding to a fire in a building from the time the alarm rings and the firefighters leave the station until they declare ‘all clear’ and return.”

 

Book Jacket for: Firefighters! : speeding! spraying! saving!

Firefighters! Speeding! Spraying! Saving! by Patricia Hubbell – JE Hubbell “Illustrations and rhyming text celebrate firefighters and what they do.”

 

 

Front Cover

No Dragons for Tea by Jean Pendziwol – JE Pendziwol “A fire erupts during a tea party and a little girl shows her knowledge about fire safety.”

 

 

Book Jacket for: Firefighter Frank

Firefighter Frank by Monica Wellington – JE Wellington “Firefighter Frank has one of the most important jobs in the community. Now young children . . . can follow along as Frank keeps his gear in tip-top shape, gives safety tips to visiting children, and cooks supper for the crew. And when the alarm bell clangs, Frank and his team race to the scene to fight the fire and keep everyone safe.”

Songs can be an excellent way to make important information easily memorizable. Tuesday’s storytime had our young patrons singing along with these songs:

Never, Never Play With Matches
(Sing to the tune of “Frere Jaques”)

Never, never play with matches
That won’t do, that won’t do
You might burn your fingers,
You might burn your fingers,
That won’t do! That won’t do!

Fire Safety Song
(Sing to the tune of “Skip to My Lou”)

I found matches, what’ll I do?
I found matches, what’ll I do?
I found matches, what’ll I do?
I’ll throw them away or give them to you.

I see a fire, what’ll I do?
I see a fire, what’ll I do?
I see a fire, what’ll I do?
I’ll get help – that’s what I’ll do!

If my clothes should catch on fire,
If my clothes should catch on fire,
If my clothes should catch on fire,
I’ll know just what to do:

Stop, drop; lay down and roll,
Stop, drop; lay down and roll,
Stop, drop; lay down and roll,
This is what we all should do.

We hope to see you at one of Bowman Library’s storytimes:
Toddler Storytime – Mondays @ 11AM
Twilight Tales – Tuesdays @ 6PM
Preschool Storytime – Wednesdays @ 11AM
Baby Storytime – Thursdays @ 11AM
Preschool Storytime – Saturdays @ 11AM

Check the calendar for storytime schedules at the Handley and Clarke County Libraries and for special events throughout the system.

Leave a Reply

