Grandma and Grandpa Stories

Grandma and Grandpa Stories
Here are a few of the stories, poems, and songs about our wonderful grandparents that we’ll be sharing this week, so you can keep singing, playing, and reading with your little one at home.

Books to Share:

Book Jacket for: Llama Llama Gram and GrandpaLlama Llama Gram and Grandpa by Anna Dewdney – JE Dewdney
“Spending the night at Gram and Grandpa’s house, Llama Llama discovers that he cannot sleep because he has left Fuzzy Llama at home, but Grandpa soon comes up with a solution to replace the stuffed toy.”

 

Book Jacket for: The grandma bookThe Grandma Book by Todd Parr – JE Parr
“With his characteristic vibrant illustrations and simple but poignant text, Todd Parr celebrates the special bond between grandparents and grandchildren.”

 

Book Jacket for: The grandpa book

The Grandpa Book by Todd Parr – JE Parr
“With his characteristic vibrant illustrations and simple but poignant text, Todd Parr celebrates the special bond between grandparents and grandchildren.”

 

Book Jacket for: Bunny cakes : a Max and Ruby picture book

Bunny Cakes by Rosemary Wells – JE Wells
“It’s Grandma’s birthday, and Max wants to make her an icky, worm-infested cake. But Ruby says, “No, Max. We are going to make Grandma an angel surprise cake, with raspberry-fluff icing.” Will Max let his bossy older sister keep him out of the kitchen? Or will they both become bunnies who bake?”

 

Book Jacket for: Hello! : is this Grandma?

Hello! Is This Grandma? by Ian Whybrow – JE Whybrow
“A little boy tries to call and invite his grandmother to his house for her birthday party, but dials the numbers for duck, cow, and sheep instead.”

 

Book Jacket for: Off we go!

Off We Go! by Jane Yolen – JE Yolen
“One by one, baby woodland creatures leave home and sing their way to visit grandma.”

 

These books, and many more, are available at the Handley Regional Library.  Many of our booklists of titles on popular subjects are also available right here on the blog on the Booklists page and are also available in hardcopy at your library.

Songs and Poems to Share:

Grandma’s Glasses
These are grandma’s glasses.
(Make circles around eyes.)
This is grandma’s hat.
(Cup hands and place on head.)
And this is the way
She folds her hands.
(Fold hands)
And puts them in her lap.
(Put them in your lap)

These are grandpa’s glasses.
(Make circles around eyes.)
This is grandpa’s hat.
(Pretend to put on a hat.)
And this is the way
He folds his arms
(Cross arms and fold.)
Just like that!

My Grandma/Grandpa Likes
(Sing to the tune of “Wheels on the Bus”)

My Grandma bounces me up and down.
Up and down, up and down,
My grandma bounces me up and down,
because she loves me so.

My Grandpa swings me side to side.
Side to side, side to side.
My grandpa swings me side to side,
because he loves me so.
My grandma gives me great big hugs.
Great big hugs, great big hugs.
My grandpa gives me great big hugs
because they love me so.

You Are My Grandma/Grandpa
(Tune:  “You Are My Sunshine”)

You are my Grandma
You are my Grandpa
You make me happy when I’m with you
You give good hugs and
You give good kisses
I hope you know how much
I Love You!

Hello Grandma/Grandpa!
(Sing to the tune of “ Are You Sleeping?”)

Hello, Grandma
Hello, Grandma
How do you do?
How do you do?
You are very special.
You are very special.
I love you.
I love you.
Hello, Grandpa
Hello, Grandpa
How do you do?
How do you do?
You are very special.
You are very special.
I love you.
I love you.

We hope to see you at one of Bowman Library’s storytimes:
Toddler Storytime – Mondays @ 11AM
Twilight Tales – Tuesdays @ 6PM
Preschool Storytime – Wednesdays @ 11AM
Baby Storytime – Thursdays @ 11AM
Preschool Storytime – Saturdays @ 11AM

Check the calendar for storytime schedules at the Handley and Clarke County Libraries and for special events throughout the system.

Leave a Reply

