All about the Arts Storytime @ Handley Regional Library

arts-and-humanities-storytime-title-card

October is National Arts and Humanities Month, a month dedicated to celebrating the visual arts, dance, music, and theatre.  In honor of this month, we’re sharing books, poems, and music about the Arts at our storytimes this week.

Books to Share:  

Book Jacket for: I ain't gonna paint no more!

  • I ain’t gonna paint no more! by Karen Beaumont ; illustrated by David Catrow – JE Beaumont
  • In the rhythm of a familiar folk song, a child cannot resist adding one more dab of paint in surprising places.

 

 

 

Book Jacket for: Too loud Lily / by Sophie Laguna ; illustrated by Kerry Argent.

  • Too loud Lily by Sophie Laguna ; illustrated by Kerry Argent – JE Laguna
  • Lily’s family and friends often complain that she is too loud, but that loudness makes her a hit in the school play.

 

 

 

Book Jacket for: Louise loves art

  • Louise loves art by Kelly Light – JE Light
  • For fans of Olivia and Eloise, this stunning debut from Kelly Light is an irresistible story about the importance of creativity in all its forms.  Meet Louise. Louise loves art more than anything. It’s her imagination on the outside. She is determined to create a masterpiece—her pièce de résistance. Louise also loves Art, her little brother. This is their story. Louise Loves Art is a celebration of the brilliant artist who resides in all of us.

 

Book Jacket for: The dot

  • The dot by Peter H. Reynolds – JE Reynolds
  • Vashti believes that she cannot draw, but her art teacher’s encouragement leads her to change her mind.

 

 

Book Jacket for: Blue Goose

  • Blue Goose by Nancy Tafuri – JE Tafuri
  • When Farmer Gray goes away for the day, Blue Goose, Red Hen, Yellow Chick, and White Duck get together and paint their black and white farm.

 

 

 

Book Jacket for: Look! look! look!

  • Look! look! look! written by Nancy Elizabeth Wallace with Linda K. Friedlaender ; illustrated by Nancy Elizabeth Wallace – JE Wallace
  • Three mice “borrow” a postcard which is a reproduction of a painting, and from it they learn about color, pattern, line, and shape. Includes instructions for making and sending a postcard.

 

Book Jacket for: Mouse paint

  • Mouse paint by Ellen Stoll Walsh – JE Walsh
  • Three white mice discover jars of red, blue, and yellow paint and explore the world of color.

 

 

 

Book Jacket for: What a wonderful world

  • What a wonderful world by George David Weiss and Bob Thiele ; illustrated by Ashley Bryan – JE Weiss
  • Children put on a puppet show using the words to the song “What a Wonderful World,” made famous by Louis Armstrong.

 

 

Book Jacket for: Dance

  • Dance / written by Bill T. Jones and Susan Kuklin ; photographed by Susan Kuklin – J 792.8 Jon
  • Introduces basic concepts of dance through poetic text and photographs.

 

 

These books, and many more, are available at the Handley Regional Library.  You can find the books listed here in the HRL catalog under the tag: Arts and Humanities Storytime Booklist .  This is also a good opportunity to introduce your child to some of history’s greatest painters.  To that end, we’ve created a collection of Great Painters picture books, you can find our previous post about it here: Great Painters Booklist

Many of our collections of books on popular subjects are also available right here on the blog on the Booklists page and are also available in hardcopy at your library.

Songs, Poems, and Fingerplays to Share

This is the Way We Paint! 

This is the way we stir the paint, stir the paint, stir the paint (make stirring motions)
This is the way we stir the paint so early in the morning.

This is the way we . . . (dip our brush, paint the paper, blow it dry, frame the picture)

I Know the Colors

I know the colors for painting fun
Green like grass and yellow sun
An orange pumpkin and white snow
A red rose and a black crow
Blue like a mailbox, brown like an ape
A pink pig and some purple grapes

Colorful Dots Song
If you have a red dot, red dot, red dot,
If you have a red dot, please bring it up!

If you have a green dot, green dot, green dot,
If you have a green dot, please bring it up!

If you have a (pink, white, brown, blue, etc) dot…

The Colors in My Box
(Tune of “The Farmer in the Dell”)

There’s colors in my box,
There’s colors in my box.
Hi ho the cherrio,
There’s colors in my box.
The yellow takes the blue,
The yellow takes the blue,
They hug together merrily,
And now there’s green too!
The white takes the red,
The white takes the red,
They hug together merrily,
And pink appears instead!

I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More!

I ain’t gonna paint no more no more
I ain’t gonna paint no more

That’s what I say . . .
But there ain’t no way
That I ain’t gonna paint no more.

So I take some red
And I paint my HEAD
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.
Aw what the heck!
Gonna paint my NECK
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.
Still I just can’t rest til I paint my CHEST
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.
Guess there ain’t no harm if I paint my ARM
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.

I ain’t gonna paint no more, no more,
I ain’t gonna paint no more.

But I just can’t stand not to paint my HAND
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.
Then I see some black, so I paint my BACK
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.
Like an Easter egg, gonna paint my LEG
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.
Still I ain’t complete til I paint my FEET
Now I ain’t gonna paint no more.

I Ain’t gonna paint no more, no more,
I ain’t gonna paint no more.

But I’m such a nut, gonna paint my  . . . WHAT!
Y’all don’t faint
Cause there ain’t no paint!
So I ain’t gonna paint no more!

And you can’t have an art storytime without making some art!

Craft Suggestion: 

img_1894

Mouse Paint Inspired Color Wheel instructions.

We hope to see you at storytime!

Bowman Library
Toddler Time – Mondays @ 11AM
Storycrafters – Tuesdays @ 6PM
Preschool Time – Wednesdays @ 11AM
Baby Time – Thursdays @ 11AM
Preschool Time – Saturdays @ 11AM

Clarke County Library
Preschool Time – Tuesdays @ 10:30AM

Handley Library
Preschool Time – Mondays @ 10:30AM
Baby and Me – Tuesdays @ 10:30AM
Toddler Time – Thursdays @ 10:30AM

Check the calendar for more children’s programs and special events throughout the system.

Leave a Reply

