Valentine’s Day Preschool Storytime @ HRL

winter-reading-program-header-2017

Love is in the air, and we’re still snuggling up with our books on these cold winter days. Bring a friend to snuggle with while you listen to us read at storytime this week.  Here are a few of the stories, poems, and songs that we’ll be sharing this week, so you can share the love at home with your little ones:

Books to Share:

These books, and many more, are available at the Handley Regional Library.  You can find them by searching the catalog for the tag

Many of our collections of books on popular subjects are also available right here on the blog on the Booklists page and are also available in hardcopy at your library.

Songs, Poems, and Fingerplays to Share:

Little Heart
I have a little heart, (place hand over heart)
And it goes thump, thump, thump (pat chest three times)
It keeps right on beating,
When I jump, jump, jump (jump three times)
I get a special feeling, when I look at you. (point to child)
It makes me want to give you a hug or two. (hug yourself)

H-E-A-R-T (tune of “Bingo”)
There is a shape and it means love
And heart is its name-o.
H-E-A-R-T, H-E-A-R-T, H-E-A-R-T,
And heart is its name-o! 

The Love Bug
It begins with a grin, (grin)
It turns to a giggle. (giggle, hee, hee, hee)
Then you start to laugh, (laugh out loud)
And your legs start to wiggle. (put your feet in the air and shake them)
You look all around for someone to hug, (look back and forth)
UH-OH! You’ve caught the love bug!
AAAAACHOOOOOO! (don’t forget to cover your sneeze!) 

Making a Valentine
Fold, fold, fold the paper
Cut, cut, cut the paper
Glue, glue, glue the paper
Write, write, I love you
Here’s a valentine for you

Skidamarink
Skidamarink a dink a dink,
Skidamarink a doo,
I love you.
Skidamarink a dink a dink,
Skidamarink a doo,
I love you.

I love you in the morning
And in the afternoon,
I love you in the evening
And underneath the moon;
Oh, Skidamarink a dink a dink,
Skidamarink a doo,
I love you!

I Love You, You Love Me
(to the tune of “This Old Man”)
I love you, You love me,
We’re a happy family!
With a great big hug,
And a kiss from me to you,
Won’t you say you love me too?
Snuggle up,
Hold me tight
Can we share A book tonight?
With a great big hug,
And another kiss or two,
I love reading books with you!

We hope to see you at storytime!

Bowman Library
Toddler Time – Mondays @ 11AM
Storycrafters – Tuesdays @ 6PM
Preschool Time – Wednesdays @ 11AM
Baby Time – Thursdays @ 11AM
Preschool Time – Saturdays @ 11AM

Clarke County Library
Preschool Time – Tuesdays @ 10:30AM

Handley Library
Preschool Time – Mondays @ 10:30AM
Baby and Me – Tuesdays @ 10:30AM
Toddler Time – Thursdays @ 10:30AM

Check the calendar for more children’s programs and special events throughout the system.

Leave a Reply

