Colorful World Storytime @ HRL

With the return of Spring comes to the return of the full complement of colors.  No longer just gray skies and brown grass, we’re celebrating our colorful world in storytimes this week.

Here are some books we recommend for learning about colors with your little ones at home.  Find them in the catalog by searching for #colorfulworldstories

 

Here are some rhymes and games we’ll be sharing this week.  We hope you continue playing at home!

Colors
Blue is the lake,  (point to the floor)
Yellow is the sun  (point to the sky)
Silver are the stars,
When the day is done  (wiggle fingers in the air)
Red is the apple,  (make circle with hands)
Green is the tree  (raise arms over head like branches)
Brown is a chocolate chip cookie  (rub tummy)
for you and me!

Colorful Movement

Red, red, touch your head.
Blue, blue, tie your shoe.
Brown, brown, touch the ground.
White, white, take a bite.
Black, black, touch your back.
Purple, purple, turn in a circle.
Pink pink, give a wink.
Gray, gray, shout hurray!

Wave your Rainbow
(Tune: “Yankee Doodle”)

Red and orange yellow and green
Then there’s blue and purple.
Wave your rainbow, wave your rainbow,
Wave your pretty rainbow.

Hold your rainbow way up high.
Wave your pretty rainbow
Make it arc across the sky
Yes, wave your pretty rainbow
Rain your rainbow to one side.

Thinking of a Color Game
I am thinking of a color that is the color of the sky. What color am I? (Blue).

Sun … yellow
Grass …green
Milk…white
Lemon…yellow
Lime…green

When I See Chant

When I See Red I put my hand on my head
When I see Blue I touch my shoe
When I see green I wash my face real clean
When I see yellow I wave to the fellows
When Orange is found I put my hand on the ground
When I see pink I think, I think, I think


The Colors in my World 
(Tune: “The Farmer in the Dell”)

There’s colors in my world,
There’s colors in my world.
Hi ho the cherrio
There’s colors in my world.
The yellow takes the blue,
The yellow takes the blue,
They hug together merrily,
And now there’s green too.
The white takes the red,
The white takes the red,
They hug together merrily
And pink appears instead.

Colorful Movement

Red, red, touch your head.
Blue, blue, tie your shoe.
Brown, brown, touch the ground.
White, white, take a bite.
Black, black, touch your back.
Purple, purple, turn in a circle.
Pink pink, give a wink.
Gray, gray, shout hurray!

Leave a Reply

