Whee, Whee, Wheels! Storytime at Handley Regional Library

Here are a few of our favorite books, songs, poems and games that we’ll be sharing this week.  We hope you’ll keep sharing these with your little ones at home.

Books to Share: 

You can find our storytime selections in the HRL catalog here: Wheels Storytime Booklist

Image result for freight train crews
Freight Train- Donald Crews

Image result for my car barton
My Car- Byron Barton

Image result for race car count
Race Car Count- Rebecca Kai Dotlich

Image result for a truck goes rattley-bumpa
A Truck Goes Rattley- Bumpa-Jonathan London

Image result for red light green light anastasia
Red Light, Green Light- Anastasia Suen

Book Jacket for: The seals on the bus
The Seals on the Bus by Lenny Hort, illustrated by Brian Karas – JE Hort
“Different aniamls–including seals, tigers, geese, rabbits, monkeys, and more–make their own sounds as they ride all around the town on a bus.”

Book Jacket for: Toot toot beep beep
Toot Toot Beep Beep by Emma Garcia – JE Garcia
“As youngsters toot, beep, vroom and whoosh along with the many colored vehicles in this noisy story, each car eventually finds its parking space and settles down for the night.”

Book Jacket for: Honk honk! Beep beep!

Honk honk Beep Beep by Daniel Kirk – JE Kirk
“When a father and son set out early one morning for a cross-country drive in their jeep, they see all sorts of vehicles and pick up diverse passengers along the way.”

Book Jacket for: Froggy rides a bike

Froggy Rides a bike by Jonathan London – JE London and J CD London
“With encouragement from his friends and family, Froggy learns how to ride his shiny new bike.”

Book Jacket for: What do wheels do all day?
What do wheels do all day? / April Jones Prince ; illustrated by Giles Laroche – JE Prince
“Simple, direct text, combined with brilliant cut-paper relief illustrations, captures kids’ fascination with “things that go” and opens their minds to the wide variety of wheels and what they do.”

 

Songs and Poems

Available at the library on: Buzz Buzz by The Laurie Berkner Band – J CD Berkner

There’s a Little Wheel a Turnin’ in My Heart 

There’s a little wheel a-turning in my heart
There’s a little wheel a-turning in my heart
In my heart in my heart
There’s a little wheel a-turning in my heart

There are two hands clapping in my heart . . .
There are two feet stomping . . .
There’s a little dog barking . . .
There are two eyes blinking . . .
There are some kids sleeping . . .
There’s a big truck honking . . .
There’s a little wheel a-turning in my heart . . .

Down by the Station

Down by the station
Early in the morning
See the little pufferbellies
All in a row
See the station master
Turn the little handle
Chug chug puff puff
Off they go

Driving in my Car

I’m driving in my car, I’m driving in my car
Beep Beep Toot Toot
I’m driving in my car
I’m driving very fast, I’m driving very fast
Beep Beep Toot Toot
I’m driving very fast
I’m driving very slow, I’m driving very slow
Beep Beep Toot Toot
I’m driving very slow
The lights have turned to red, The lights have turned to red,
Beep Beep Toot Toot
So I must stop the car
The lights have turned to green,
The lights have turned to green,
Beep Beep Toot Toot
So I can drive again

Bicycle

I have a little bicycle (hold hands together for little)
I ride it to and fro (rolls hands)
And when I see that big green light
I know it’s time to go! (pedal in air fast)
I have a little bicycle (hold hands together for little)
I took it to the shop (rolls hands)
And when I see that big red light
I know it’s time to STOP! (freeze)

You can also try playing these games together:
Red Light, Green Light

Just for babies rhyme:

This little train ran up the track
Trail fingers up baby’s arm from fingers to shoulder
It went Choo Choo!
Tap baby’s nose!
And then it ran back.
Trail fingers back down baby’s arm.

The other little train ran up the track
Trail fingers up baby’s other arm from fingers to shoulder
It went Choo Choo!
Tap baby’s nose!
And then it ran back.
Trail fingers back down baby’s arm.

Learn Sign Language:

Image result for baby sign carCar
http://www.babysignlanguage.com/dictionary/c/car/

 

 

 

Train in Baby Sign LanguageTrain
http://www.babysignlanguage.com/dictionary/t/train/

 

 

 

Good Morning in Baby Sign LanguageGood Morning
http://www.babysignlanguage.com/dictionary/g/good_morning/

 

 

 

Suggested CDs: 

Book Jacket for: Cars, trucks, and trains [sound recording]

Whee, Whee, Wheels from Cars, Trucks and Trains by Jane Murphy – J CD Murphy

Of course, no wheel storytime is complete without a rendition of “The Wheels on the Bus!” The Library has numerous versions of this classic kids’ song available.  Check out some of them here: “The Wheels on the Bus” songs on J CD.

We look forward to seeing you at storytime!

Check the calendar for storytimes at your local branch of the library.

Leave a Reply

