Snake Stories at Handley Regional Library

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Snakes Alive! finished it’s Handley Regional Library Tour with two shows at Bowman Library.  Thrilled kids got to touch and even hold live snakes and lizards.  Thanks again to Ron Cromer for bringing his slithery friends to visit us!

Keep the love of snakes alive in your child by reading these suggested books all about snakes!  You can find these and more suggested books in our catalog under the tag: #slitherandhiss

Snake Stories: 

Songs, Poems, and Fingerplays to Share:

All the Snakes (Tune: “London Bridge”)
All the snakes are slithering,
slithering, slithering.
All the snakes are slithering,
across the grass.

All the snakes make a hiss,
makes a hiss, make a hiss.
All the snakes make a hiss,
and smile at the sun.

Snakes smell with their tongues,
With their tongues, with their tongues.
Snakes smell with their tongues,
and they can smell you!

Boa Constrictor
I’m being swallowed by a boa constrictor,
I’m being swallowed by a boa constrictor,
I’m being swallowed by a boa constrictor,
And I don’t like it very much.
Oh no, he swallowed my toe.
Oh gee, he’s up to my knee.
Oh fiddle, he’s up to my middle,
Oh heck, he’s up to my neck.
Oh dread, he swallowed my head! (slurp-swallow)

I’m being swallowed by a boa constrictor,
And I don’t like it very much.

The Slippery Snake
Sss, ssss went the slippery snake one day
Sss, ssss went the slippery snake
Sss, ssss went the slippery snake one day
And they all went sss, sss, sss
But… we know snakes go (clap) shoe-be-do-be-do
(clap) shoe-be-do-be-do, (clap) shoe-be-do-be-do
We know snakes go (clap) shoe-be-do-be-do
They don’t go sss, sss, sss

I Am a Snake
I have no legs. I have no arms. (arms down close to body)
I can take off my skin. (pretend to pull off skin)
I wiggle my tongue. (like this wiggle tongue)
I’m very, very thin.  (hands on ribs, slide them down)
I can open my mouth so wide.  (open mouth)
And eat my dinner whole.  (rub tummy)
I can curl up nice and tight, (squat down low)
Or stretch out like a pole.  (stretch up tall)

S-N-A-K- E (Tune “Bingo”)
I had a snake
he was so fast
as fast as snakes can be!
S-N-A-K- E, S-N- A-K- E,
S-N-A-K- E, he is my favorite snake!

I had a snake
he was so green
as green as snakes can be! …

I had a snake
he waved goodbye
he waved goodbye to me! …

A is For Alligator
A is for alligator, snap, snap, snap!
B is for bunny, hop, hop, hop,
C is for circle, spin around and around,
D is for dizzy, and we all fall down!

We hope to see you at storytime!

Check the calendar for more children’s programs and special events throughout the system.

Leave a Reply

