Let’s Play Pretend! Imagination Storytime at Handley Regional Library

Based on a graphic Designed by Freepik

Imagine That! Grow your child’s imagination with storytime songs, books, and games!

Have you picked out a Halloween costume with your child yet?  Picking out a costume gives your child an opportunity to play pretend, also known as dramatic play.  Play is enormously important to early childhood learning, and dramatic play helps children develop a deeper understanding of the stories they act out as well as the people or creatures they pretend to be.  And these are only a few of the early literacy benefits of playing pretend!  Learn more about the benefits here: 5 Reasons Dramatic Play Matters for Child Development

Here are a few books that encourage and celebrate children’s ability to pretend:

Imagination and Dramatic Play Books to Share: 

You can find these books and more in our catalog under the tag: #playpretend

Imagination and Pretend Play Songs, Poems, and Fingerplays to Share:

Can you Pretend?
Let’s hear you roar like a lion!
Let’s see you jump like a frog!
Let’s see you snap your jaws like a crocodile!
Let’s hear you howl like a dog!
Pretend you’re an elephant with a big, looooong, trunck.
Pretend you’re a monkey.
Let’s see you jump, jump, jump!
And now you’re a mouse.
Just let me see
How very, very quiet you can be.

Can You Move With Me?
(Tune: “Do Your Ears Hang Low?”
)
Can you wiggle like a worm?
Can you squiggle? Can you squirm?
Can you flutter? Can you fly like a gentle butterfly?
Can you crawl upon the ground
Like a beetle that is round?
Can you move with me?

Can you flip? Can you flop?
Can you give a little hop?
Can you slither like a snake?
Can you give a little shake?
Can you dance like bee
Who is buzzing round a tree?
Can you move with me?

Abracadabra, Alaka-zow!

Abra-cadabra, Alaka-zow
When I say KAZAM you’ll all be cows! KAZAM!

Abra-cadabra, Alaka-zello
When I say KAZAM you’ll all be jello! KAZAM!

Abra-cadabra, Alaka-zitty
When I say KAZAM you’ll all be kitties! KAZAM!

Abra-cadabra, Alaka-zids
When I say KAPOW you’ll turn back into kids! KAPOW!

I’m a Little Teapot
I’m a little teapot
Short and stout
Here is my handle
(one hand on hip)
Here is my spout
(other arm out straight)

When I get all steamed up
Hear me shout
“Tip me over
and pour me out!”
(lean over toward spout)

We hope you can join us for storytime at one of our Handley Regional Library Branches this week!

Check the calendar for the dates and times of storytimes at your local branch library.

2 comments

Leave a comment